Battleground General Arnhem 1944 by Jon Sutherland and Diane Canwell

Wargaming is something that I have always fancied having a go at. In the main, it has been time and expense that has precluded me having a go. Similarly, I tend to steer clear of wargaming PC games, as I find it all too easy to spend all weekend playing them! Therefore I was very interested to see this book by Sutherland and Canwell which is, in essence, wargaming in a book. And obviously, with my personal interest in the Battle of Arnhem, I was doubly fascinated to have a go at wargaming Arnhem.

The concept is thus. You play in the role of either of the opposing commanders – in this case, either Major General Roy Urquhart or Waffen SS General Wilhelm Bittrich. After reading the opening entry, you are given a series of choices, which usually entail making a tactical decision. Each step entails going on to another decision if you decide on a particular course of action. In essence, it is kind of like a giant flow chart, but only listed in a book. As far as I can tell it is pretty accurate to history, militarily and in terms of the geography and the ‘feel’ of the battle. I’ve walked over the ground at Arnhem a couple of times, as well as reading every book about the battle more than once, so I guess I’m as much an expert about Arnhem as you can get. Of course, it is quite simplistic, compared to say a PC game or a school hall long board wargame, but that’s the beauty of it – you can sit on the train and play it with yourself, or maybe in conjunction with another fellow military history nerd.

Oh, and if you’re wondering, I won! Playing as Urquhart, I stayed at my HQ initially on the first day, but went ahead to switch the Recce Squadron and the rest of 1st Parachute Brigade to the southern route once I hit opposition on the way into the town. As a result the 2nd Battalion made the Bridge, and more of the Brigade than did in reality. Of course, I know that on the evening of the 17th Urquhart got himself trapped in Arnhem, so I prompltly pulled myself back to main HQ. The rest of the 1st Brigade were held up in the town, but on the second day I switched the 4th Brigade (Grandad included!) to the southern route, down through Oosterbeek. Along with the balance of the 1st Brigade, they made it to the Bridge. The 1st Airlanding Brigade remained on the drop zones, where the Poles later landed. With enough men on the northern end of the Bridge, I sat it out – too many Germans on the south, my probing recces found that the opposition there wasn’t worth wasting too many men on. However, once I heard that XXX Corps had taken Nijmegen Bridge and were advancing up the Island, I charged the south bank in an all or nothing coup de main – and took it!

Having read plenty of Arnhem books, I think that plan might well have worked – but of course, that takes a lot of hindsight. But then again, isn’t that what we do, as historians? Take account of hindsight where others could not at the time? When you consider how it must have been trying to make decisions back in September 1944 – when Urquhart et al knew none of this – you can see how success and failure were divided by such a thin line. A very sobering realisation indeed.

Battleground General Arnhem 1944 is published by Pen and Sword

8 Comments

Filed under Army, Arnhem, Book of the Week, Uncategorized, World War Two

8 responses to “Battleground General Arnhem 1944 by Jon Sutherland and Diane Canwell

  1. John Erickson

    So is this one of those “If you attack the dragon, go to #35, else go to #47” type wargame books? I’m OLD school – I used to play the board wargames from folks like Avalon Hill, with the little cardboard counters. Sadly, while a number of computer versions of these games appeared in the 90s, they’ve all gone “first person shooter”. I prefer the turn-based approach. But like I said, I’m old school! 😀

  2. paul foley

    To be honest, Sutherland and Canwell are hardly up to writing serious military history. Operation Market Garden wasn’t a game with models, boards and dice. The book is full of factual errors.
    Don’t be fooled by them publishing 200 books in 13 years–one every 3 weeks. How much time did they give them to research the generalship at Arnhem, write, edit, etc?

  3. Dogs that are well-socialized are less likely to be aggressive towards strangers and other dogs.
    Polar bears in the Canadian Hudson Bay area have lost weight and
    are losing their fitness due to the ice breaking up two weeks earlier than usual in the spring months.
    This article has been flagged as spam, if you
    think this is an error please contact us.

  4. Restaurant Earth, Facebook, e-mails, these won’t develop and stay a life
    you can never have thought. You undoubtedly don’t begrudge them this enjoyment.
    If accurate, the transfer shouldn’t come like a surprise.

  5. Here’s a russian imperial stout fit for microbrew
    kings and queens alike! It is produced with the distinctive IPS technologies,
    so it supports multi-touching. Just think about
    your iPod Touch, that is able of many issues.

  6. When you inform one for them, and people you set
    up a surface to stand on as well! Being an iPhone owner certainly thinks exceptional.

    Including places, periods, and all animals.

  7. It brings fresh multiplayer, new tools, fresh opponents and new fun.
    It is what got them where they’re nowadays. On top it could seem somewhat
    intricate, also questionable.

  8. Aw, this was a really good post. Taking the time and actual
    effort to produce a top notch article… but what can I
    say… I put things off a lot and never manage to get anything done.

Leave a comment