The Third World War – North German plain or Fulda Gap?

In reading about the possible land battles that might have ensued in a Third World War in Europe, I’ve found an interesting parallel with the Schlieffen Plan of 1914 and the Manstein Plan of 1940.

General Sir John Hackett, in his book The Third World War, predicted that the main Warsaw Pact thrust would come through the North German Plain. A strong Soviet thrust from northern East Germany would have fell upon NATO’s Northern Army Group, cut off Denmark and effectively sealed the Baltic. There were also fewer natural obstacles in the area, and an advance in the north would have allowed the Warsaw Pact to avoid more difficult terrain in the south and also outflank US forces in central and southern Germany. NATO forces would have been hamstrung by a need to defend as much German territory as possible, but would almost inevitably have had to fall back to soak up the Soviet advance. A strong advance along the North Sea Coast might have cut occupied Holland and possibly threatened channel ports such as Rotterdam and Antwerp. This would in turn have threatened NATO lines of communications, especially for Britain.

An attack along the North German Plain to outflank NATO forces in Europe would have been very similar to both the Schlieffen Plan in terms of a northern advance through easier territory, but also the Manstein Plan in terms of outflanking a Maginot line like obstacle. It also shows a more British-like thinking, with a policy of attacking the point of least resistance. Remember also that in September 1944 Montgomery wanted to attack the North German Plain, only in the opposite direction.

US strategists, on the other hand, seem to have focussed on the Fulda Gap, a low-lying and open plain between the East German border and Frankfurt. A thrust through the Fulda Gap would have been in the centre of the front-line of Cold War Europe. An attack near Fulda would have met the bulk of the US Army in Germany head on, and given that the US provided most of the forces in the theatre a defeat there would have been catastrophic to the rest of NATO. A Fulda Gap operation would have been more in line with US military thinking, namely a strong frontal attack against the bulk of the enemy’s forces.

Both options, however, would have been hampered by pressing concerns on the Soviet Union and Warsaw Pact. Given the numerical weakness of the NATO armies, it was assumed that the US would use nuclear weapons on targets in Poland and East Germany to disrupt reinforcements reaching the front-line. Therefore the Soviet and Warsaw Pact forces would need to reach as far as possible as quickly as possible before this might happen. Some Soviet exercises, such as Seven Days to the Rhine, assumed that the Rhine would be the limit of the advance before the communist forces were forced to halt.

Its an interesting dilemma indeed. Thinking as a Soviet General in the 1980′s, I must admit the North German Plain looks inviting. Less natural obstacles, weaker opposition, the possibility of cutting off Denmark and the Baltic and reaching the North Sea and Channel Coast quicker, isolating the British Army of the Rhine and outflanking the bulk of US in Europe would have been pretty appealing. But then maybe thats too predictable? On the other hand, it does seem that NATO thinking – always led by an American, remember – saw the Fulda Gap as the most likely route, followed by the North German plain.

I’m sure its a scenario that war game enthusiasts have played out many a time…

30 Comments

Filed under Army, cold war

30 responses to “The Third World War – North German plain or Fulda Gap?

  1. Pingback: Sea Links « New Wars

  2. x

    First Clash is the book you need. Beloved of war games and the counter-factual fan (such as myself.)

    History;

    Ok to know when; better to know why; best to ask what if? !!!

  3. Pingback: North Koreas new powerfull Tank. - Page 5 - U.S. Politics Online: A Political Discussion Forum

  4. Pingback: kids games

  5. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  6. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled
    upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  7. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. However think of if you added some great visuals or videos to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this blog could certainly be one
    of the best in its niche. Terrific blog! Many thanks!

  8. I feel that is among the such a lot significant information for me.

    And i am happy reading your article. However want to observation on some normal things, The
    web site taste is perfect, the articles is in point of fact nice : D.
    Excellent activity, cheers

  9. This piece of writing is genuinely a pleasant one it helps new the web users,
    who are wishing for blogging.

  10. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page for a second time.

  11. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout
    of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people
    could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot
    of text for only having 1 or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  12. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you really recognise what you are speaking
    about! Bookmarked. Kindly also seek advice from my website =).

    We can have a link exchange arrangement between us

  13. This post gives clear idea in support of the new visitors of blogging, that really how to
    do running a blog.

  14. I keep hearing the news speak about obtaining free online grant applications
    thus I have been looking around regarding the best site to get one.
    Thanks a lot!

  15. It’s the best time to make a few plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have learn this put up and if I may I want to counsel you few attention-grabbing issues or advice. Perhaps you could write subsequent articles regarding this article. I desire to learn more issues about it!

  16. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know
    a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

  17. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page yet again. Thanks!

  18. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Much appreciated info!

  19. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I
    provide credit and sources back to your site? My
    blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my users would definitely benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. The info has been so
    very much appreciated!

  20. Hello, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Opera, it looks fine but when opening
    in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, awesome blog! Thank you!

  21. I do believe all the concepts you have presented for your post.
    They’re very convincing and will certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for starters. Could you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  22. I do believe all of your points are excellent! Break it up and also list this down.

    It often looks better and more readable when you write your
    tips that way. Thanks a lot for the tips! Thank you!

  23. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website. It’s
    simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a awesome job
    with this. Also, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Chrome.
    It’s So much appreciated!

  24. Appreciation to my father who shared with me regarding this weblog, this
    blog is genuinely amazing.

  25. Early warnings of severe weather can give you just enough time to take cover.
    One last note; the diesel system that is on all 4WD diesels was designed to
    run on a fuel with certain burning characteristics.

    A marine battery charger is one of the examples of marine equipment that is used on water and
    you may come across a situation when you have to charge the battery.

  26. Reaping these advantages is most likely when
    you Jailbreak ipad. Apple touts a internet experience on
    the Iphone without the compromises you generally make with smartphones.
    You can really look for this program on the internet.

  27. This is a topic that’s close to my heart… Many thanks!

    Exactly where are your contact details though?

  28. Spot on with this write-up, I really think this web site needs far more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the advice!

  29. This means that you can use the same mobile number numerous times, which is a useful function.
    However, carriers can develop deals around third-party
    applications. This makes messages much more customized.

Leave a Reply

