Fighting Fit? pt 2

So, its a week into my new big push to ‘get-fit’. And, apart from the odd lazy day off, I’ve been out running most nights. Im still huffing and puffing like a smoker (which I’m not) but I’m gradually running that bit further… and not stopping!

Clearly I’ve still got a long way to go, and I’m still in that awkward early phase of getting fit where if you stop then its back to square one. Its a barrier that I’ve come up against many times before, so the real test is to stick with it and not give in. But I can see the benefits already. When you’re out running most nights, you feel seriously guilty about indulging in cakes and chocolate. And, believe it or not, I’m actually making more of an effort to actually eat some veg!

I went to watch my brother do a cross-country yesterday, which was a real eye-opener. The finish was at the top of a particularly nasty slope, and just after the finish line many of the runners were collapsing in near-exhaustion. Its really inspiring to see how far some people can push themselves. But also, I could probably enter a run like that tomorrow, and while I wouldn’t win, I probably wouldn’t finish last!

And apparently, my brother and my dad have joined their running club as a family so, I can join and go along to their weekly training sessions at no extra cost!

Leave a comment

Filed under fitness

Leave a Reply

