1,000 posts

Well, apparently this is my thousandth post on my blog! How the hell did that happen?

I’ve been making a few calculations. If, for example, I’ve written a couple of hundred words in each of my posts, say, 250 – then thats around a quarter of a million words written on Daly History since July 2009. And a thousand posts divided by three years works out at just under one post a day. One wonders where I’ve found the time for it all, in amongst writing my first book, a day job, a home life and by no means least a partner!

I would like to thank you all for your support over the past three years. My brother Scott for suggesting that I start a blog in the first place. Honestly, it started out as something to do and a way of expressing myself, never in my wildest dreams did I imagine I would end up winning awards and getting a book published off the back of it. My publishers for taking a chance on me that I hope has paid dividends, and also the various other publishers who very kindly let me review their wares. Also the various friends I have made here over the years, and other social media historians who have helped to create what is a thriving online community for military and other kinds of history.

A few years ago, nobody would have imagined the amount of history that would be created online. Even now, some of the more sniffy ‘professionals’ might doubt the importance of social media. But I’m sure the past three years here have shown that it is THE way forward when it comes to breaking down barriers in history, heritage and all other kinds of allied fields. Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, Flickr, and indeed WordPress are just as valuable tools as the humble pen and paper. bJust like the internet has broken down doors for music artists, it’s done the same for historians, and it’s time that people woke up to it. Just as nowadays somebody can record an album in their bedroom, and put it online, a budding historian can circumvent all of the chicanery, and get their work noticed. Why beaver away on writing dusty journal articles that maybe four people will read? Blogging is accessible, it’s dynamic, and it is – I’m sure – here to stay.

Heres to the next thousand!

 

8 Comments

Filed under site news

8 responses to “1,000 posts

  1. I hate that I am not just arriving at 1,000. I looked at some of your previous works and I really enjoyed them. I recently started a history blog myself….I hope that I can make it to the 1,000 milestone.

  2. John Erickson

    Well, I could say that 1000 posts exemplifies your wooden delivery. Or that 1000 posts make you a lot of mail. (Double rimshot.)
    Okay, okay, seriously. This makes two wondrous bits of news from Old Blighty I’ve received today. And just to properly massage your ego, I’ll rate your 1000th post ahead of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. And that’s saying a lot, from an honourary Coldstream Guardsman! ;)
    Congratulations, my friend, and here’s to many thousands more! :D

    • James Daly

      Thanks John!

      On the subject of the Jubilee, did you see any of the footage of the ‘Thames Jubilee Pageant’? It made me sick hearing the commentators talking about how we haven’t had a River Pageant for over 400 years – thats because in the intervening years we had a Royal Navy to review!

      • John Erickson

        We had the feed from the Beeb on. Can’t say I noticed too much prattle, but then again, with US News in its’ current state, I keep my “prattle” filter on maximum most of the time. Mind you, I logged onto the BBC earlier today to find out about Prince Phillip, and noticed in their concert guestlist they had the “Cold Stream Guards” band. It’s “Coldstream” – one word – like “IDIOTS!”. And this, less than a week after they were doing a report on Syria, Amnesty International, and the UN Security Council, and managed to put up a graphic of the UN Space Command – one of the forces from “Halo”, or some such video game.
        (Sigh.) Well, it had to happen. With everything else the US exports, we finally managed to export our “twerp” gene. My apologies to the rest of the world! :D

  3. Pingback: Does a blog count? « Something Very Big

  4. A couple of weeks in the past, multiple resources announced the Apple iphone five launch
    date for Wednesday, Sept.12, 2012. In accordance to reviews,
    in less than a month, the Apple iphone 5 will be offered to the push during the
    keynote, and then to the public.

    When it came down to searching for apps that make a woman
    pleased, (a mammoth task to start with) all that I kept
    coming across dealt with infant-care or pregnancy, styling suggestions, designer garbs, French cooking,
    and of course a long list of apps which offered to assist me thin down.

    But the reality that I am a woman made me stop right there before assuming
    that this is all there is to being a lady, that our world revolves around babies, grooming and cooking.
    Feminist rantings apart, there are certain to be a great deal of things that curiosity you as a
    person, and not necessarily as a woman. Which is the reason
    why I’ve taken the liberty to include a class of apps that I
    think will delight you, because they sure did make me feel nice.

    Inspiring for the woman seeking to drop some weight, ‘Lose It!’ keeps
    track of the calories and vitamins in your food and helps you handle
    your excess weight efficiently. Pair it up with a normal exercise regime
    and keep track of your diet plan with this application.
    You can choose to share your success with your friends by
    way of Facebook or Twitter or maintain it personal.

    Apple promises the iPhone 5 battery can deal with 10 hrs of video and forty hours of music playback.
    After some study, you might remember that the Apple iphone 4S also promised you ten hrs of
    video clip and forty hrs of audio playback. So there is really no innovation in that regard.
    Internet browsing is really enhanced more than the prior Iphone, according to the
    information sheets from Apple, with up to 8 hours in 3G for the Iphone 5
    vs. 6 hours for the Apple iphone 4S. As for surfing on Wi-Fi, it does not
    alter a lot between designs (10h/iPhone 5, 9h/iPhone 4S).

    The Japanese style that finished in Honduran mahogany,
    South African shale and Dakota granite, gives
    the home elegant and luxurious appear. This house with
    an indoor pool, a library, a theater, six bedrooms are extremely comfortable for the whole large family.

    Video formats supported: H.264 video clip up to 720p, stereo audio
    in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats; MPEG-4 video clip,
    up to two.five Mbps, Motion JPEG (M-JPEG) up to
    35 Mbps.

    Common issues that have been reported are the incapability
    for the house button to work, the phones, and microphones getting
    disabled, unusual error messages when connecting your Iphone to your pc, and so on.
    If you are heading to use jailbreak then you should make certain
    that you have a working understanding of computers
    software and components.

    How thrilling to really feel the awesome films on iPad!
    But iPad only supports MP4, MOV, M4V video formats (H.264, MPEG-4
    video clip codec). Don’t worry! Foxreal iPad Film Converter is your best
    option to transfer movies to iPad. This magic movie converter can change all
    film formats to iPad compatible formats.

    According to PCMag.com, merchants Goal and Very best Purchase have both reduce their prices on current Iphone designs.
    Target has the Verizon 16GB version of the Iphone 4S for $179.ninety nine with a agreement.

    Best Buy is offering $50 off for the 8GB edition of the
    Apple iphone five, with it pried at just $49.ninety nine.

    If you find apps and games unimportant and you primarily just make calls with
    your phone, conserve your money and use it for a nice weekend with your unique somebody.

  5. Bargaining is all about. It is a lot to the mega used cars dealership the minimum frustrating experience.
    Another factor to consider when you’re buying from a licensed dealer, you can help eliminate any financial or logistical issues
    that might come along with the increasing number of auto car
    leads. Little car engine did I know that this is the place for you.
    The older cars sold by private sellers just near
    your location.

Leave a Reply

