Thinking about the site

I’ve been doing a bit of thinking about how things are going here at Daly History. It’s almost three years since I began, and how things have snowballed has far exceeded my expectations.

With that in mind, I’ve been thinking about how I move forwards with it all. The site remains, essentially, the same design wise as it did when I launched in July 2009, a few additions and modifications aside. I’ve been wondering if it’s time to think about a bit of an overhaul. When I started I was just a bloke interested in history who blogged in his spare time. Now, three years later, I’m a published historian.

One option to is to go down the self-hosted route, and actually host the site myself rather than using wordpress. The problem is, wordpress.com does not allow you to place adverts on your blog, whereas if you download the software and host it yourself, you can sell advertising. How would you feel about seeing adverts? It would only be a few, smallish and relevant adverts, from things that I think you my readers would be interested in. The idea is that it would help pay for the hosting costs.

In a more general sense, what do you like about Daly History? What would you change? Have you got any ideas that might improve things? In terms of content, is there anything that you would like to see more of? Am I covering some subjects in too much detail? Am I missing a trick with something? Please feel free to be brutally honest, I really welcome straight-up feedback as it makes my job so much easier!

As always, thank you for your support

James

14 Comments

Filed under site news

14 responses to “Thinking about the site

  1. briani2216

    I’ve got no problems with a few adverts.If they help pay your costs or even make you a bit of cash then why not.

    There’s nothing very wrong with your current site.It’s easy to find what you want quickly.Keep things simple and don’t bother with fancy animations.

    I’d have a good look at military interest sites and cherrypick the best bits.You don’t have to do it all in one go either.In the same way some navy ships are designed for but not fitted straight away with weapons etc just do the same with your new site.

  2. John Erickson

    I have no problem with ads – several blogs I follow are smothered in ads, so a few would not be much of an intrusion. I just have to re-evaluate whether I want to associate myself with a pinko left-wing Commie such as yourself!
    (Yeah, right. My reputation couldn’t dive any deeper if it was attached to a North Korean rocket! :D )

  3. x

    No problem with adverts or the site as it is now content wise.

    A few less references to what ships you can see from your office window or popping over to the Round Tower to see a particular ship coming or going would be appreciated for those of us who are land locked. It is just insensitive. :) ;)

  4. You pretty much get adverts anyway – you get some odd comments and links.

  5. Steady as she goes, James. If it ain’t broke…

    Otherwise, I’m sure we will appreciate any changes you implement as long as the content remains as informative and entertaining as before.

    • James Daly

      Thanks Rob. I’m looking at mainly cosmetic changes to be honest, the substance of the sight probably won’t change at all I should imagine.

  6. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your weblog.
    You have some really great articles and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.

    Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Regards!

  7. Just wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity
    to your publish is just nice and i could think you’re a professional
    on this subject. Well together with your permission allow me to grasp your feed to keep
    up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please carry on the rewarding work.

  8. In relation to betting, skill and experience wikll definitely yield a profit sooner or later.
    A large number of Liverpool fans invest their money in this venture.
    Whereas, within normal disability, there is a chance of a pull, Asian disability
    eliminates which danger by adding objectives whether whole, half and three quarter or even quarter.

  9. Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it
    has pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice
    of colors!

  10. It’s remarkable to go to see this web site and reading the views of
    all colleagues regarding this piece of writing, while I am
    also keen of getting experience.

  11. To begin with, an iPod Touch jailbreak is riskfree.
    It is possible to check out other jailbreak application instructions on BestJailbreakSoftware.

    Then, comic-book editors started selling comics onto it.

  12. Social media updates and posts are just like your yard BBQ
    party – be personal, be your self and be genuine. You
    have to confess – the iPhone is one pretty amazing phone.
    Start the unlocking process by running that plan.

Leave a Reply

