Christmas Message from James

After I’ve had a few days of down time over christmas – which for me constitutes divorcing myself from the laptop for a few days! – I have had a chance to sit back and reflect on what an amazing year it has been.

This time last year I had just started work on my first book, ‘Portsmouth’s World War Two Heroes’. The contract was inked in January, and after a mammoth effort the book was handed into the publishers in June. I’ve learnt a hell of a lot about the writing process, the publishing industry and much more besides! In particular, in future I would give myself much more time, and in particular, I would try not to move house three days before the hand-in date!

After a bit of a rest – including a nice trip to the Dartmoor Folk Festival, and settling in to my new quarters in Chichester, I have started work on my project looking at Portsmouth’s fallen heroes from the Great War. Research is still ongoing, and I am still considering how best to present this research, but I do very much have my eyes on the 100th anniversary of the start of WW1 in 2014, or the 100th anniversary of the Somme in 2016.

The most popular topics on my blog this year have been ‘The Sinking of the Laconia‘, a BBC docu-drama in January, and the visit of the US Aircraft Carrier George H.W. Bush to the Solent in May. Anything to do with the Falklands seems to go down pretty well. Sadly I haven’t been able to post as much as I would like, due to work commitments, lack of internet at times of the year, etc, I am still pretty pleased with the hit rate I am getting. But I won’t pre-empt my review of the year, which rightly belongs on new years eve.

When I think back to the time that I started this blog, it’s almost like it was a different person who started it. I literally began blogging through boredom, and thought that if I was going to spend my mid-twenties singledom reading military books and visiting museums, I had might as well do something constructive with it. Now, over two years later, my first book is due out in a little more than a month, I’ve written text for display at the Spinnaker Tower, and certainly by no means least, I have moved in with my Girlfriend Sarah. I don’t mind admitting that when I started my blog in the summer of 2009 I was still recovering from a period of suffering from some pretty severe depression. Realising that what I have to say interests people has motivated me more than anyone could ever know, and its certainly helped me move on and up in life. I just want anyone reading this to know, that if you really want to achieve something, you can if you work hard enough. It doesn’t matter what illness you may suffer from, or what school you went to, or where you grew up. True, that might mean that you might have to work harder, but in the process you will have earnt it so much more.

I would like to thank you all for your support, participation and kindness throughout the past twelve months. You all really help make it happen. I am always very interested to hear comments, feedback, ideas or the like. We live in a very uncertain and very unpredictable world, and it has never been more important for us to champion the understanding of the past, and in particular study and understanding of military history.

From my Girlfriend Sarah and I, a very happy Christmas to you all.

7 Comments

Filed under site news

7 responses to “Christmas Message from James

  1. x

    Seasons greetings to you both.

    As somebody who fell out of love with studying history at degree level I find the site something of a minor revelation. At uni’ there were radical politicised teenagers doing politics, sporty teenagers doing physiology, etc. but I don’t think there was one teenager actually enthusiastically interested in history.

    Your are really “doing history” both as a job and as a hobby; though hobby seems to be a bit of understatement and infers a dash of amateurism which is not appropriate to the undertaking. (Saying that we British do tend to flourish as amateurs and fail as professionals………)

    So BZ!

  2. John Erickson

    Oddly enough, my other early blog discovery (over here) was a gent working off the shackles of depression after being crippled by a botched back surgery. (Funny how we gravitate together, ain’t it? :D )
    I can only echo X’s comments, congratulate you on some excellent work,. and urge you onward to greater success, not the least of which will be to become an honourable gentleman and marry that girlfriend of yours! ;)
    Looking forward to more great discussions and fascinating facts in the New Year. Congratulations, well done, and thank you!

    • James Daly

      In both the Army and the RN it is possible for soldiers and sailors to transfer to the AAC or FAA on secondment, do some time with aviation, and then go back into the ‘mainstream’ as their career progresses. I am reading a book on an AAC squadron at the moment, and at one point roughly half of the pilots were officers from Infantry, Artillery etc who felt like doing a stint as a pilot. In a similar sense, it is good that in the RN submariners and aviators can command surface vessels – keeps the skills base broad. An AAC pilot who has commanded a platoon on the ground is going to know more about what an infantryman wants from a helo, and an ex-submariner Lt-Cdr is surely going to be better at ASW?

  3. I need to to thank you for this wonderful read!!

    I certainy enjoyed every bit of it. I have got you bookmarked tto check out new stuff
    you post…

  4. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be
    really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  5. The Apple iPad is a new utility which has been out for a few months and gradually more popular.
    First of all, it was considered as just a new tech gadget. Now
    it brings out new software with a new way to utilize the iPad.
    Here are a quick iPad evaluation and how to get a totally free
    iPad.

    Another great app that lets you personalize your exercise, the
    Nike Coaching Club saves you a lot of money that
    you’d otherwise spend on hiring a fitness trainer.
    Directions are available, which make the workouts easy to adhere to, and music settings are included too.
    An easy interface, with a number of exercise drills, this application classifies as a
    should-have.

    An execllent application for just a jailbroken phone may be the My3G.
    It is truly an app that essentially lets individuals use FaceTime
    the very best way many envisioned when Apple introduced it might be supplied with the iphone 4.
    My3G allows users are able to use FaceTime for a 3G link as an alternative to requiring you to be saddled with a Wi-Fi community.

    So irrespective of where somebody is, if they have 3G, they could make FaceTime calls.
    This software for the jailbroken iphone four also allows downloading Television programs and podcast from iTunes in addition
    to watching High definition videos on YouTube.jailbreak
    Apple iphone attributes you required hoped could nicely be which is accessible from Apple, correct?

    But no make a difference what site you use, it is much better if you are heading to look for these that really have a very comprehensive library.
    You ought to make certain that it can offer you with 1000′s of titles from various outfits.
    It is also a lot much better if it can feature various languages and genres such as drama, comedy,
    motion, musical, and a whole lot more.

    Even iPhone application improvement companies in India are creating their presence felt in the world of app improvement.

    And due to their reduce charges, application development businesses in India are a favourite of numerous who
    want to outsource their app development tasks but want a trusted partner who could offer quality work
    and lower pricing. Indian app improvement companies do fulfill these requirements in an excellent way.

    The Period Tracker app arrives in two variations, the lite and
    the deluxe, each of which are very user-friendly.
    Put an end to all the speculation regarding your subsequent time period as this application helps you forecast it
    pretty precisely. What’s much more, it tracks your fertile days and all the symptoms
    related with your cycle in a monthly structure.

    It is a discreet app that can be personalized and locked.

    The iPad no lengthier requirements to be synced to iTunes
    to be set up for the initial time, but it is nonetheless a good idea to have iTunes on your Computer.
    At the extremely least, iTunes makes it easier to get any pictures or movies you take from your iPad to your Pc.

    The content material that I tested and experimented with was
    both strike or miss as far as the outcomes went throughout testing.
    It labored some of the time and frequently did not work at all or crashed, but it is still some what helpful for
    Flash games and movies.

    There is also the chance of obtaining viruses and spyware
    when you download information from free Apple iphone websites.

    All information in Iphone Geek are certified totally free from viruses and adware.

  6. It’s also advisable to understand that these streaming websites aren’t always on-line.

    Given the lengthy list above, you have enough reasons to
    enjoy the art of cinematography. Will Smith, who played “John Hancock”,
    did a great job.

Leave a Reply

