Proofreading the final draft

As I write I am happily scanning though a PDF file of my book, kindly sent to me by my publisher.

I can gladly report that it looks the biz. When you’ve worked on something like this for a couple of years, at times it seems like a long haul and when you read the chapters in word format, it just looks like another undergraduate essay. But when you see it designed, laid out with photos and in a fancy font, you suddenly realise that you’re a historian! I’m really pleased with how it looks. I was concerned about the ratio of pictures to text, but I seem to have got it just right.

One thing I hadn’t bargained for was working on the index, which should be interesting as it’s something I’ve never done before. Prioritising the key points to fit into the space avasilable should be a challenge.

Once the index and any amendments are sent back to the publisher its all systems go, with just over 70 odd days left before publication.

6 Comments

Filed under portsmouth heroes, site news, World War Two

6 responses to “Proofreading the final draft

  1. sommecourt

    As you’ve kindly reviewed one of my books on here, if you want me to do the same for yours let me know.

    • James Daly

      Hi Paul that would be very kind of you. When it comes out I will ask the Publishers to send you a review copy. I’ve just finished reading Walking the Somme as well, hopefully I’ll have that posted up soon.

      James

  2. John Erickson

    Any chance I can get in on proofing and/or helping you with the index?

    • James Daly

      Hi John that would be very much appreciated if you would like to have a look at the pdf I have been sent.

      In terms of indexing, I think its just a case of me sitting down and working through it. I have a finite amount of space for it, so its a case of prioritising. What do you like to see in an index?

      • John Erickson

        I’d have to have a gander at the finished pdf before I could comment about an index. I tend to read a lot of tech-heavy stuff, so my indices would list by type or country. Maybe a listing of names, cities (outside of Portsmouth) or neighborhoods (within Portsmouth), and/or battles? Just a few off the top of my (empty) head. ;)

  3. x

    A belated (and another) BZ

Leave a Reply

