Daily Archives: 18 November, 2011

Proofreading the final draft

As I write I am happily scanning though a PDF file of my book, kindly sent to me by my publisher.

I can gladly report that it looks the biz. When you’ve worked on something like this for a couple of years, at times it seems like a long haul and when you read the chapters in word format, it just looks like another undergraduate essay. But when you see it designed, laid out with photos and in a fancy font, you suddenly realise that you’re a historian! I’m really pleased with how it looks. I was concerned about the ratio of pictures to text, but I seem to have got it just right.

One thing I hadn’t bargained for was working on the index, which should be interesting as it’s something I’ve never done before. Prioritising the key points to fit into the space avasilable should be a challenge.

Once the index and any amendments are sent back to the publisher its all systems go, with just over 70 odd days left before publication.

6 Comments

Filed under portsmouth heroes, site news, World War Two