D-Day Museum on Remembrance Sunday

Just a little reminded that I will be speaking at the D-Day Museum in Portsmouth this coming Remembrance Sunday.

The Museum is open from 10am. I will be speaking at 12noon and 2pm, giving a short talk on my forthcoming book, ‘Portsmouth’s World War Two Heroes’. Entry to the Museum is free all day, and there is no need to book.

I’m just putting the finishing touches to my notes. If you come down, feel free to say hello and ask me anything you like!

7 Comments

Filed under d-day, event, Museums, Talks

7 responses to “D-Day Museum on Remembrance Sunday

  1. John Erickson

    Can you get someone to record your presentation? I’d like to see it, but the logistics of my getting there are, shall we say, a bit complicated. ;)
    So what’s this I hear that FIFA won’t let England wear poppies during their game this weekend? What the….?

  2. James Daly

    I will see what I can do John. I might not be able to record all of it, due to memory constraints. I gather there will be a press photographer there from the local rag, so there might be some publicity for me to pass on afterwards. I am going to be doing something to go on youtube sometime soon, keep your eyes peeled ;)

    Ah yes FIFA. They’ve relented and are allowing us to wear poppys on black armbands. It’s ridiculous that they thought the poppy to be a political statement, its beyond politics, its a universal symbol. It’s not like when the English team had to give the Nazi salute at world cup in 1938. Yet FIFA are hardly in touch with the real world, and have long had it in for the English FA.

    • John Erickson

      I heard about FIFA this morning – nice to see those yahoos exhibit a bit of sense.
      Regarding your speaking engagement, I was thinking of a video recording you could post on the net (since you folk use a different recording format than we do). Or record it on a DVD and mail it to me, and I can get it translated to our format over here. Or whatever works! (I’d venture a simple cassette recording, but I don’t think you young punks know what a cassette recorder looks like, much less how to use one! Darn iPod generation! ;) )

      • James Daly

        I’ve been trying to think of someone I know with a video camera, but without success. I might be limited to trying to get somebody to film it on their digital camera’s video function. If I can’t get this one recorded I will make sure that I record another one, soon!

  3. Pingback: vancouver wedding photography

Leave a Reply

