Update from James

Hi all, I just thought I would let you know what’s happening here at Daly HQ.

Still haven’t replaced my laptop, and I’m waiting for the insurance company to pick it up prior to a replacement. It’s pretty frustrating having to beg steal and borrow Internet access, especially when you have books to write and talks to produce! Not to mention corrections to my book to reply to my publisher!

On a more positive note, I have nine – yes, nine! – book reviews backed up ready to go. Subjects include WW2 propaganda posters, British Army junior officers of WW1, Fromelles, Salonika, wargaming Arnhem, and battlefield guides of the merville battery, the dives bridges, and Pegasus and horsa bridges.

2 Comments

Filed under site news

2 responses to “Update from James

  1. John Erickson

    Oh, admit it, you’re just having a wild bacchanalia and you’re too good to invite your blog friends. (Well, the ones that could show up, anyway.) That’s fine, Mr. Big Time Author, just go ahead and forget us little folk what made you a big star in the first place. :p
    (Yeah, I ain’t buying my indignation either. :D )
    Sounds like you’ve got some goodies upcoming. I just LOVE war posters, got a whole book full of them around here somewhere. I look forward to that most eagerly. The wargaming one should be interesting – by any chance, is it an outgrowth of the (US-native) Avalon Hill “Squad Leader” series? (Just curious – “I don’t know” is always an acceptable answer.)
    Good luck on the laptop front! And don’t worry, we’ll all be here when you get back. :)

  2. James Daly

    The war poster book is a real gem, John. Not to pre-empt my review, but it covers all participants, and looks at the difference between propaganda in democracies and dictatorships. The wargaming book is interesting, its a case of ‘step one. do you do…. a), or b). If a, go to decision X. If b, go to decision Y.

Leave a Reply

