Ian Daglish

I was very saddened to hear of the tragic passing of Ian Daglish yesterday.

Ian was the author of the Over the Battlefield series of books looking at the Normandy battles of Operations Epsom, Goodwood and Bluecoat. These took a very refreshing view of the battlefields and helped me a great deal in my understanding of the battle of Normandy. Ian was also very helpful to me personally when it came to researching Portsmouth’s World War Two dead, in particular a couple of men killed in those battles that he had written about himself.

The Second World War military history field is a lesser place for his passing. I’m sure the military history community will join me in offering my condolences to his family.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Ian Daglish

  1. I can’t say the name sounds familiar, but the loss of any historian so dedicated is a tragedy. And any historian who would take the time to work personally with you speaks volumes. I will, therefore, add my condolences to yours, and promise to correct my ignorance of this great man.

  2. A D JONES

    I met him a few times earlier this year.

    A real gentleman and a superb writer.

    RIP

  3. E.Findlay

    My Father and myself have known Ian for a number of years; attending some of his lectures, but also in Normandy where we would partake in the commemerations on 6th June at St Charles de Percy cemetery. My Father being an ex Scots Guards of wwii read Ian’s books testifies to their accuracy, depth and clarity. He really did justice to all those that served.
    A sad loss; The commemerations will not be the same without Ian there.
    M. and E. Findlay.

  4. I’ve just returned from what has been a brilliant trip back to Normandy & more to follow on that, soon, however, I also returned to the shock news that Ian Daglish had died Sunday morning from injuries sustained in a light aircraft crash last Friday.

    To those of us interested in the Normandy fighting, especially that occuring post D-Day, Ian’s books are essential reading being well researched, written and full of detail

    I have only known Ian personally since October last year when I was introduced to him by David Mabbutt, the then curator of the “Bluecoat” museum in St Martin des Besaces, but his personality and shared interest in the Normandy fighting made me feel as ‘though we’d known each other for years.

    When I delivered my talk on “The Men in the Shed” http://www.menintheshed.com for our local military history group http://www.smats.org.uk , Ian was kind enough to make some generous comments.

    He will be sadly missed, not only by his family, to whom my thoughts & prayers go out to, but also his friends who will miss his enthusiastic interest in all things military.

Leave a Reply

