two landmarks in one day

We’ve had two landmarks in one day here at DalyHistory. Sometime this morning my humble little blog passed the 100,000 hit mark. Incredible, I would never have thought I would ever get 1,000 hits, let alone 100,000! And later this evening the 2,000th comment was posted. So doing the maths, if that means that ever 50th hit results in a comment, then surely thats not such a bad ratio at all ;)

I’m currently off work this week to focus on researching and writing up the naval chapter of my forthcoming ‘Portsmouth’s Second World War Heroes’. Today was spent looking at secondary sources on the Royal Oak, Hood and Barham. I also found some great source books on Submarines, including a catalogue of all decorations made to submariners in WW2. Tomorrow’s plan is to finish off some books on submarines, and then go onto the mircrofilm to take a look at the Portsmouth Evening News of the days following the sinkings to see what reaction there was locally, and to see if I can find any pictures or obituaries of men who were lost. Later in the week I plan focus on Boy Seamen, and a Destroyer Captain’s antics in the Mediterranean.

3 Comments

Filed under portsmouth heroes, site news

3 responses to “two landmarks in one day

  1. John Erickson

    Well, congratulations my friend! I don’t want to give you a big head or anything, but I don’t find it surprising at all. You’ve got a great blog for us naval nuts, and a great peanut gallery for commentary.
    And you’ve got me, too, but we’ll try not to hold that against you! :D

  2. Edna Cahill

    I mentioned your Blog on ‘Portsmouth today’ on the Naval Ships Forum, so you may get a few more!!! Edna

Leave a Reply

