Privates Edwin and Frederick Denyer

Most British Army Regiments began the First World War with two Regular Battalions. Since Victorian times it had usually been the norm for one of a Regiment’s Battalions to be serving overseas – particularly in India – and for the other Battalon to be based at home.

The 2nd Battalion of the Hampshire Regiment began the war in India. They quickly returned to England, however, landing at Plymouth on 22 December 1914. They spent the next four months moving between Romsey, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick. On 29 March 1915 the Battalion sailed from Avonmouth, bound for Galipoli, via Egypt. Landing at Helles on 25 April 1915, they were eventually evacuated in January 1916.

There were commonly family links in the pre-war regular Army. Private Frederick Denyer, 22 and from 66 Maitland Street in Landport, was killed on 28 April 1915. He is buried at Redoubt Cemetery, Galipoli. His Brother Private Edwin Denyer, 24, was killed on 6 August 1915. He has no known grave and is remembered on the Helles Memorial, Galipoli.

After being evacuated to Egypt the 2nd Battalion of the Hampshire Regiment landed in Marseille on 20 March 1916, and saw out the rest of the War in France and Belgium, seeing action at Arras and Passchendaele.

10 Comments

Filed under Army, portsmouth heroes, World War One

10 responses to “Privates Edwin and Frederick Denyer

  1. Pingback: Privates Edwin and Frederick Denyer « Daly History Blog

  2. Deborah

    Private Edwin and Frederick Denyer are my great uncles. Found this really emotional

    • Glenna Smith-Walkden

      I live in Canada and have been researching my family history. My grandfather Frederick William Smith was sent to Canada in 1907 as a Barnardo boy. We always thought he was an only child. His mother was Mary JAne Smith Denyer and his step-father was Alfred Jupp Denyer. I just found out he had two half brothers…Nathan Thomas Denyer and Edward Charles Denyer. Nathan was killed in 1917 and is buried in France. I have been trying to contact Denyers in Hove/Brighton area. Wondering if we are related.

      • Deborah

        Oh my Glenna how interesting I’ll pass this information on to my mum she’s been researching our family for years it’s possible there’s a connection somewhere along the line. I get back to you if I find any relevant info. I live on England’s south coast not too far from Brighton

        • Glenna Smith-Walkden

          Thank you! I’m hoping to connect with family before I arrive in U.K. October 2015

          • Deborah

            Hi Glenna mums seems to think there is a possible connection as her grandfather Llewelyn was married 3 times and had many children she’s done a huge amount of research into the Denyer family history. I’m on Facebook (Debbie O’Neill) if you are and want to add me or email Debbie.oneill43@ntlworld.com we could try fill in some blanks in your research if there is a family link between us.

            • Glenna Smith-Walkden

              I would love to stay in touch! The Denyers that I know of are Alfred Jupp Denyer, Mary Jane Denyer (my great-grandmother) Nathan Thomas Alfred (killed in WWI and is on the Hove Memorial) and Edward Charles Denyer. I am on Facebook as well. I’m under Glenna Smith-Walkden

              • Deborah

                I’ll pass that info onto mum. I’ve looked your name on FB do you live in Florida now ?? Only Glenna Smith-Walkden that came up ??

                • Glenna Smith-Walkden

                  I live in Florida during the winter so yes that’s me. It’s a picture of my husband and I. I was looking at some stuff I had and Aljfred Jupp Denyer’s mother’s name was Fanny if that helps

  3. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could
    i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal.

    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

Leave a Reply

