Allan-Williams Turret




Allan-Williams Turret

Originally uploaded by dalyhistory2010

I’ve finally managed to find out what this strange structure was that I sighted on my camping trip to Dorset back last summer.

Its an Allan-Williams Turret. Its a pre-fabricated structure made out of steel, designed to be operated by a single man. Part of it is recessed in the ground, and the top part can rotate through 360 degrees giving an all-round field of fire. It was designed for weapons such as the Bren, Lewis, Browning and Hotchkiss Machine Guns and the Boys Anti-Tank Rifle.

199 were ordered and built, and they formed part of the many defences rushed into action during the invasion scare in 1940 after the fall of France.

This example was photographed between Dancing Ledge and St Aldhelms Head on the Purbeck Coast.

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Allan-Williams Turret

  1. Greetings I am so happy I found your website, I really found you by accident,
    while I was looking on Bing for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to
    say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round interesting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at
    the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when
    I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb b.

  2. I simply wanted to thank you so much again. I’m not certain the things that I would’ve tried in the
    absence of the entire basics provided by you over such concern.
    It had been the alarming situation for me, however , witnessing your well-written tactic you processed it made me to leap over joy.
    I am just grateful for the help and then sincerely hope you are
    aware of a great job you were undertaking teaching people today
    all through your site. More than likely you haven’t met all of us.

  3. That’s what the 1984 video Nightmare on Elm Street is about.
    Ofcourse, an on line film has been seen by everybody.
    The film features William Holden and Ernest Borgnine in
    the lead roles.

  4. This movie, at least by its previews, looks to be promising in its wit.
    The primary character, Gloria Suarez, works in the fashionable Mode journal in NYC.
    I’ll need to declare its kinda cute.

  5. The beginners have been very loose and the clutch bats like Martinez’s have gone quiet.
    Head To Video in your PSP and select Memory Stick. She didn’t care
    how things got done and would do what it took to obtain what she wanted.

  6. Apple 3G iphone is one of the most popular devices by this brand.
    My buddy chooses the droid because it is on the T-Mobile Community.
    This can take as much as 5 minutes, so be patient.

  7. Stars contain Matthew Fox, Emile Hirsch, Susan Sarandon,
    and Christina Ricci. If you can isolate the problem, then
    you can locate an answer. That is right, season 5 of the attack AMC dilemma can decline on
    Sunday July 15th.

  8. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article! It is the little changes
    which will make the largest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  9. You can use it now and appreciate full access to your iPhone
    in under five minutes. And iPad Frash presently only supports installation on the iPad.
    The e-mail clients would have Video Chat for Android and
    right here comes Yahoo.

  10. This 1 is a blessing for all these who adore to read books.
    So great is WeChat that I am preparing to uninstall WhatsApp inside the
    subsequent three months. You can find much more information about whatsapp on pc right here.

  11. Nevertheless, Really Defrag can review, defrag, and improve your partitions and paging file during boot-up.
    This really is a thing I wish I had regarded before
    I started marketing myself on Fb.

  12. When clients improve, you don’t retain multiple accounts, which can be the Linux process.

    It is therefore essential to produce oneself appear to be a source
    of great information on your subject.

  13. Facebook looks, tome much less particular than MySpace. Double-Check to be sure that every one of
    one’s info is supported before going to the next step.

    FarmVille – FarmVille could be the most played game on Facebook.

  14. Just like cleaner, this request might be run at Windows startup.
    The Password Reset Wizard enables you to develop a new password to your user account.
    Plus all kinds of freebies to “change” back again to normal routines!!

  15. It does not usually happened but might be it can occur
    throughout jailbreak process. A number of hundred thousand individuals are jailbreaking!
    Once you are successfully in DFU Mode, the process will begin.

  16. 1 additional well used features, is the ease of accessing the internet.
    However, arrive 2012 and it is anticipated to launch a brand new telephone in the marketplace.
    I hope that the articles have been helpful for you.

  17. Ashley assumed they would trip home together. There are numerous sources,
    but the one I believe in in particular linked below.
    Make sure to carry on holding the House button. True to their title,
    the beans truly are from Mexico.

  18. I think this is among the most important information for me.

    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some
    general things, The website style is great, the articles is really great :
    D. Good job, cheers

  19. Hence, be sure you’re in a position to set
    up and adhere to everything given in the utility directions.
    I should start with the disclaimer that jailbreaking is not sanctioned
    by Apple, so they do not approve.

Leave a Reply

