Fierce debate over UK Defence spending

The Prime Minister had denied that he ‘guillotined’ the Defence budget while British forces were fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan. An ex-MOD civil servant had earlier made the claim while giving evidence at the Iraq Inquiry.

Conservative Leader David Cameron said: “Isn’t it becoming clear from the Chilcot inquiry that the government in general, and you in particular, made a series of bad decisions that meant our armed forces were not equipped properly when they were sent into harm’s way?”

Former Ministry of Defence permanent secretary Sir Kevin Tebbit called the £1bn cut “arbitrary”, and that “I think it’s fair to say that the Treasury as a whole didn’t want us to get as much as we got.” It would seem increasingly that the Government was willing to make huge commitments, but not to fund the armed forces to carry them out.

It is also broadly accepted that Gordon Brown, as Chancellor, had more control over public spending than any of his predecessors. Not only was he able to control spending, but Government policy by default. Gordon Brown’s denials come after a stream of witnesses at the Iraq Inquiry have stated that preparation for the war was severely hampered and inadequate.

It would not be in the Prime ministers interests to admit that he did not fund the armed forces properly: politicians are rarely blessed with honesty over such matters. But why ignore the clear findings of an Inquiry, that he ordered, before it has even finished?

3 Comments

Filed under Afghanistan, debate, defence, Iraq, News, politics

3 responses to “Fierce debate over UK Defence spending

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  2. I blog quite often and I really thank you for your content.
    The article has really peaked my interest. I am
    going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed too.

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

