Happy New Year!

I would like to wish you all a happy new year, wherever you are in the world. Lets hope for a good 12 months ahead.

Review of the year

6 months ago my brother suggested to me that it might be an idea for me to start writing a blog about my interest in history. It took me a while to get started, but I’m glad that I did. Now, 6 months later, I have made almost 250 posts, and had over 5,800 hits – I could never have imagined that so many people would be interested in what I have to say! To be honest, I wasn’t sure that it would work – people aren’t interested in history, surely?! But it looks like the concept of relating the past to the present and the future, in an accesible way, does interest people.

I would like to say a big thank you to everyone who has visited, and all of my friends and colleagues who have encouraged me, and especially everyone who has commented and made contributions here. I would like to thank Mike Burleson of New Wars for not only helping shape my opinions on naval policy, but also citing my writing and pointing people in my direction. I would also like to thank all of the publishers who have kindly allowed me to review their books, and Portsmouth Historic Dockyard for asking me to be a guest columnist on their blog. I have also greatly enjoyed taking part in discussions on the ww2talk forum.

I’ve also had some interesting experiences this year. I got to look round the Royal Navy’s brand new Destroyer HMS Daring. In July I spent a pretty interesting few days walking from Swanage to Weymouth on the Jurrasic Coast in Dorset. The Shoreham airshow was spectacular this year with the Vulcan making an appearance. And I managed to fit in a day trip to Bruges as well!

Whats happening in 2010

You can expect more of the same here on Daly History! However, I promise to not write just about military history, and you can expect some wider subjects to appear very soon. Expect the first guest blogger to make an appearance very soon, somebody who an interest in ancient and medieval history and also fiction… lets just say I will be keeping it in the family!

The Portsmouth War Dead project will continue, so expect plenty more stories of Portsmouth men and women who died between 1939 and 1947. I am also looking at a similar project for the First World War. I have a busy programme of talks booked, with more in the pipeline. Also, reviews of Museums and other interesting sites will hopefully start soon. And who knows what else will transpire during 2010?!

Lastly, feel free to let me know if there is anything else you would like to see, let me know – I’m all ears!

Once again, thank you for your interest and support

Happy New Year!

James Daly

2 Comments

Filed under site news

2 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Susan

    Congrats on your amazing 6 months. As a person who just cannot get into history at all, you have made it that much easier. So thank you.

    Good luck in the next year.

  2. pompeydoomcrew

    Keep up the good work dude!

Leave a Reply

