Victoria Cross Heroes – Major Robert Cain VC

Major Robert Cain VC

Major Robert Cain VC

I must confess to having a particular admiration for this Victoria Cross winner. Not only is he Jeremy Clarkson’s father-in-law, and not only did Major Robert Cain win his Victoria Cross during the battle of Arnhem, but there is something so completely normal and modest about his life before and after the VC, that it shatters the myth that all VC winners are supermen. Theres something of a VC winner in all of us.

A pre-war worker for Shell, Major Robert Cain was commanding B Company of the 2nd Battalion of the South Staffordshire Regiment when they landed in Gliders at Arnhem. After leading his company in the attack into Arnhem, he was the only senior officer to survive. Major Gilchrist, of the 11th Parachute Battalion, met Cain, who told him that “The tanks are coming, give me a PIAT”. It was not exactly the job of a company commander to take on tanks with a PIAT, but that he was determined to have a go speaks volumes of the man.

After the remnants of the attack fell back to Oosterbeek to hang on for dear life, Cain was determined to take on as much Germany armour as possible. On the afternoon of 21 September 1944 two tanks approached his position. Standing in the open and guided by a spotter high in a building, he destroyed the first tank, but was wounded when a PIAT shell exploded in his face. In his own words he was “shouting like a hooligan. I shouted to somebody to get onto the PIAT because there was another tank behind. I blubbered and yelled and used some very colourful language. They dragged me off to the aid post.”
However within half an hour, against medical advice, he had returned to the front line. Later in the battle he and another man took over using a 6 pounder anti-tank gun until it was destroyed, and then with no PIAT rounds remaining he used a 2 inch mortar, firing from the hip. Before withdrawing across the Rhine, he even found time to shave.

Cain’s Victoria Cross was announced on 2 November 1944:

“Throughout the whole course of the Battle of Arnhem, Major Cain showed superb gallantry. His powers of endurance and leadership were the admiration of all his fellow officers and stories of his valour were being constantly exchanged amongst the troops. His coolness and courage under incessant fire could not be surpassed”

Upon leaving the Army after the war Cain returned to his job working for Shell, before retiring to the Isle of Man. When he died in 1974 his family were astounded to find a Victoria Cross among his belongings – apparently he hadn’t thought to mention it.

55 Comments

Filed under Army, Arnhem, victoria cross, World War Two

55 responses to “Victoria Cross Heroes – Major Robert Cain VC

  1. Astounding bravery.Should have had a bar to the VC.

  2. James Daly

    Hi Bjorn, I agree Major Cain was incredibly brave, one of my favourite VC stories. However he could not have won another VC, as only one is awarded for each battle. Whats incredible is to think that Arnhem was Cain’s first and only battle!

  3. Which makes him nothing mroe than a village idiot gravelling
    at the feet of America’s enemies. mention magnifiers, burning glasses (because holding them in the sun over a piece of parchment or cloth would set it on fire), and magnifying glasses. I did not know that Martti was the former President of Finland.

  4. ” The president also mentions that he was in charge of two wars when he received the peace prize in the first place. One of the comments I’ve seen is that he was nominated before February 1 of this year. I did not know that Martti was the former President of Finland.

  5. Live richer and happier lives by living for others.
    “Let each one of us build bridges rather than barriers, openness rather than walls. There are lots of people all over the world doing this.

  6. After all, Assange is facing extradition to Sweden for questioning in a rape case.

    “Let each one of us build bridges rather than barriers, openness rather than walls. Receiving fifty-seven votes out of sixty, Hammarskj.

  7. However, his detention has not stopped Xiaobo from acting as an outspoken critic of Chinese
    authorities. Alfred Nobel died in 1896 and set up his
    foundation. Earlier today, the Norwegian Nobel Committee declared
    Liu Xiaobo the winner of the 2010 Nobel Peace Prize.

  8. During the race on Saturday, Busch’s car made contact with Harvick’s as Clint Bower’s car wrecked, sending both men spinning out of contention. * Account review: past purchases, terms, requirements. That being said, Hamlin has an average finish of 8.

  9. I need to to thank you for this fantastic read!! I absolutely
    enjoyed every little bit of it. I’ve got you saved as a favorite to look at new things you post…

  10. It’s very easy to say that you’ll exercise, but unless you set aside a specific time, it’s also very easy for that commitment to fall by the wayside. A patient’s small intestines are also severed and reattached
    so they service each pouch. Then it was off to enrolling in the Silver Hill Psychiatric Hospital in New
    Canaan, Connecticut.

  11. I read this post completely regarding the comparison of most
    up-to-date and preceding technologies, it’s awesome article.

  12. s grain consumption increased by 36,280,000 tonnes (40 million tons).
    Hopefully, this represents some sort of indication that, even here in God’s country, Cache Valley, Utah, we’ve had enough of the ultra extreme far right for awhile.
    And these changes will not suit human life as it is.

  13. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  14. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I’m hoping
    to see the same high-grade content by you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to
    get my very own blog now ;)

  15. Check out there repayment schedule. Achievement begins with an optimistic attitude
    in life. Personal Loan can be secured or unsecured.

  16. This piece of writing presents clear idea in support of
    the new viewers of blogging, that genuinely how
    to do running a blog.

  17. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time
    to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  18. You’ll encounter a change in your lifestyle after undergoing this bariatric surgery. Sucrose has an awful lot more energy provision than sugar alcohols. Get on the path to spiritual growth so you can heal the emotional and external reasons you.

  19. After I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from
    now on whenever a comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment.
    Perhaps there is a way you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

  20. Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  21. Hi, just wanted to say, I loved this post. It was helpful.
    Keep on posting!

  22. Usually I don’t read article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice post.

  23. A powerful resource for individuals of all walks of life, My Colleges and
    Careers connects people with the programs that help them earn degrees on campus
    or online. Gordon won here in 2001 and 2002 and has a streak of four straight top-five finishes
    on this track. A 25-point penalty puts the former NASCAR Sprint Cup champion into negative territory going into the Phoenix race this coming weekend after only gaining 2 points
    from the Daytona 500.

  24. Your way of explaining everything in this post is in fact nice,
    all be able to simply know it, Thanks a lot.

  25. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog
    with my facebook group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  26. I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  27. Simply desire to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in your post is simply spectacular and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS
    feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please
    carry on the gratifying work.

  28. Hi there to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this
    site, and your views are fastidious in support of new users.

  29. Definitely consider that which you said. Your favourite reason
    seemed to be on the internet the easiest thing to
    be mindful of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as folks think about concerns that they plainly don’t recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , folks could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thank you

  30. What’s up, I want to subscribe for this website to obtain latest updates, thus where can i do it please help out.

  31. Hello there I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found you by accident, while
    I was looking on Askjeeve for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and
    a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great job.

  32. I leave a response each time I appreciate a article on a website or I have something to add to
    the conversation. Usually it’s triggered by the fire displayed in the post I browsed. And on this post Victoria Cross Heroes – Major Robert Cain VC | Daly History Blog. I was actually moved enough to leave a thought ;) I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind. Is it just me or does it look as if like some of the comments come across as if they are left by brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are writing on other social sites, I would like to follow you. Would you list the complete urls of all your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  33. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely
    well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more
    of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  34. People who follow strict diets and workout plans,
    as well as those who received Slimband surgery, have better sleeping habits as compared with their routines before.
    Bariatric surgery, the surgical reduction of stomach volume, has been
    performed for decades in the United States.
    The weight loss also reduces their risk for several
    diseases.

  35. You have made some really good points there. I looked on the web to find out more about the issue and
    found most people will go along with your views on this web site.

  36. Find out how shopping at stores with good customer rewards programs can take a bite out of your monthly expenses.
    This peer-to-peer (P2P) configuration allows Skype to take
    advantage of your computer hardware and Internet
    connection to be the functional and feature-packed text, voice and video communications service that we are all familiar with.
    Look for the latest ATI or NVIDIA GPU in the computer which will give you the most power.

  37. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also
    the rest of the site is really good.

  38. We have to watch our starch intake as strongly as we watch our sugar intake.

    Eat the combination daily for around 2-3 weeks. If
    a diabetes natural treatment does occur almost 200 million people globally
    are thinking.

  39. She smiled at me like she had been feeling the sympathy problems.
    The nuts can be bought in several different forms . coloring.ws provides many photos of cats.
    Every kid watches him with open admiration.

  40. The contestant by the end of the season that has the absolute
    most hair falling out in clumps victories. Every show has an unique plot,
    characters, and storyline. The Yankees have announced C.C, to prepare ahead for that.

  41. Their relationship became stronger than ever. Walt calls him a coward and looks at
    Jesse, Mark spits on him. The five best dog movies ever are:
    Marley, Homeward Bound, Old Yeller and Me, Best in Show, and Benji.

  42. VAre you thinking, whether you ought to jailbreak your iPod Touch or not?
    The problem lies in this specific model of iPod. What do
    you all think the iPad mini will consist of? Most of the
    deals supplied by cydia are free.

  43. Robert Cain

    The family knew, just it wasn’t mentioned because as you can imagine it isn’t something which you’d necessarily want to celebrate or discuss, that week in Oosterbeek was awful for him and his fellows.

  44. I do believe all the ideas you have presented for your post.
    They are really convincing and will certainly work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very short for novices.
    May you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time?
    Thank you for the post.

  45. Just how can these ipad book cases support? But of course you could always opt for higher drive capacity if you have a supplementary hundred or
    two. The primary difference is more within the
    terminology.

  46. Quality content is the crucial to interest the users to visit the website, that’s
    what this website is providing.

  47. Heya i am for thhe first time here. I came acrooss this board and
    I fihd It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope tto
    give something back and help others like yyou
    helped me.

  48. Kind “http://repo666.ultrasn0w.com” and touch on”Add Source” to consist of this repo if you haven’t already. You can also use different themes for this show from both your settings or Winterboard.

  49. If you have the SHSH blobs saved for iOS four.two Beta three,
    you will see “SHSH: four.2b3″ in the standing.
    With each of the programs listed above, the procedure to unlock iphone 3s is
    very simple.

  50. These complexes could possibly be the key to beating other
    players who have not cheated developing them.
    It allows the beast out from the case and the beast is roaring.
    Around the big iPad display, there is big fun inyourface.

  51. To get a simple image, struck the camera button without choosing Results solution. This is the program on Facebook based on everyday active consumers.
    That is vital to get your meaning across.

  52. He informed Ashley he’d be using the vehicle; that was fine with her.
    It is all correct there for you to see with simplicity.
    You lastly got the extremely well-liked iTouch or iPhone.
    First, Mexican Jumping Beans are not beans at all.

  53. Don’t be concerned, it’s pretty simple to get
    back your chat history on your telephone. As we deleted the chat log often, much more and more fragmented information generated.

    Uninstall whatsapp from your Android phone.

  54. You can follow some simple instruction to unlock iphone [http://www.unlock-iphones.org] 3G.

    The SWF to iPod Touch conversion will begin formally
    in a couple of seconds following the performance testing.

  55. naturally like your website however you have to
    check the spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very troublesome to tell the truth on the other hand I will definitely come again again.

Leave a Reply

