Trafalgar flag – for the nation?

HMS Achille, Spartiates sister ship

HMS Achille, Spartiate's sister ship

The last known surviving Union Jack flown in battle by the Royal Navy at Trafalgar is expected to sell for £15,000 at auction. The jack was flown from the flagstaff of HMS Spartiate. After the battle on 21 October 1805 it was presented to one of the ships officers, and his family and ancestors have kept it safe until now.

Charles Miller, who is selling the flag in London on Trafalgar Day, October 21, said: “We believe it is the only existing flag that flew at Trafalgar. It is one of the most important historical items any collector could expect to handle. The damage is probably from bullet holes or splinter fragments, but despite this it is in amazing condition.”

HMS Spartiate was a 74 gun ship of the line, built and launched by the French. In 1798 she fought at the Battle of the Nile, and was captured by the British. As was the custom at the time she was repaired and commissioned into the Royal Navy, complete with the same name, and fought at Trafalgar.

In my opinion, something of this importance should not be allowed to get anywhere near private collectors, who would puchase it out of extravagance and keep it for their own gratification. It would far more appropriately be donated to the National Maritime Museum or the Royal Naval Museum, where anyone and everyone could go and see it. Or, god forbid, it might even end up leaving the country. Museums, with their rigid funding, simply cannot compete against wealthy individuals.

Should there be laws to protect items of national importance from being squirreled away, or leaving the country altogether?

11 Comments

Filed under debate, maritime history, Museums, Napoleonic War, Navy, News

11 responses to “Trafalgar flag – for the nation?

  1. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you’ve done a great job with this. Also, the blog loads very quick for me on Chrome.

    Exceptional Blog!

  2. Have you ever thought about adding a little
    bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable
    and all. Nevertheless just imagine if you added some great images or
    video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content
    is excellent but with images and clips, this site could definitely be one of the very best in
    its field. Very good blog!

  3. After looking at a few of the articles on your website, I really like
    your technique of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark site
    list and will be checking back in the near future.

    Please check out my web site too and tell me what you think.

  4. Hi Dear, are you genuinely visiting this web site regularly,
    if so after that you will without doubt obtain nice knowledge.

  5. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative
    and amusing, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something not enough men and women are
    speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I found this during my search for something
    relating to this.

  6. Attractive element of content.I just stumbled upon your
    weblog andd in accession capital to assert that I acquiire in fact enjoyed account
    your blog posts. Anyway I’ll bee subscribing in your augent
    or even I achievement yoou get admission to consistently
    quickly.

  7. Joining us is fairly simple.All you should do is- begin and present
    us your basic information. He’s to get ahead of many hitters to work and he won’t, if his confidence is shaken.

  8. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform
    are you using for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because
    I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another
    platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of
    a good platform.

  9. Aside from that the phone also lacks a video recorder.

    Keep holding the House button down till QuickPwn tells you that the process has begun. As soon as you discover,
    OpenSSH set up it to the gadget and reboot the iPad.

  10. Digital Photograph Frames let you display your electronic pictures
    in a new way with out the need for a pc. Even though it seems rational that this feature will arrive eventually, it did
    not happen with this update.

  11. Afterall, it does look like it would be
    illegitimate doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

