Daily Archives: 7 August, 2009

Red Arrows

The Red Arrows

The Red Arrows

Walking over Portsdown Hill earlier this evening I chanced upon a display by the Red Arrows, the RAF’s aerobatic display team. They were displaying over the Solent for Cowes week. Luckily I had my camera with me and managed to take a few shots as they banked over Portsdown Hill and flew low over Portsmouth Harbour.

The Red Arrows fly Hawk Jets, which in their other guise are used as trainers for Jet pilots before they step up to combat aircraft.  They’re also due to perform at the Shoreham Airshow in a couple of weeks time.

I can’t help but think that in common with most British military units, especially diaplay teams, they’re probably the worst funded yet best in the world at what they do.

Leave a comment

Filed under airshow, out and about, Royal Air Force